top of page

Life's A Pitch

Recently saw the excellent Quidditch reference "Life's a pitch and then you dive". But I digress. Because for our team, life's a pitch because we don't leave anything about our team on the field. So after being with this team long enough to consider them all family, I thought I'd take a moment to talk about some of the off-pitch adventures I've had with my teammates, just to give you a glimpse into the full scope of awesomeness that being on this team entails.

However, this is far from everything I've done with my teammates, because to be honest, some of them have become my closest friends, and even those I'm less close with have my back and vice versa. Two of my teammates are among my best three friends in the world, the people I spend all my spare time with, doing everything from binge-watching Arrow to swimming in the Crim Del. We're a team that shares everything, from the best of times to the worst of times, and that sticks together no matter what. We laugh and cry together, fight and bleed together, win and lose together. Honestly, I started Quidditch because I thought it sounded fun and I wanted motivation to go outside. But it's become so much more than a sport to me. It truly has become a family. And I want nothing more than to see my family grow as more people realize just how lucky they would be to be part of a team like this one.

~Sorority Date Party~

So I'm in Greek Life (Pro Tip: You *can* juggle Greek and Quidditch! We have two brothers and two sisters at the moment!) and, when I found myself in a long-distance relationship and thus without a date to my first event as a sister, I went where I knew I could find friends who had my back... That's right. I took one of our then-chasers and we had a fantastic time. (and didn't even talk about Harry Potter once)

~Sorority Fall Formal~

After the first time, it became a bit of a tradition for me to grab as many Quidditch guys as possible for my sorority events because, let's face it, I really don't know anyone who could be more fun to bring than them. For Formal we got to see how well the team really cleans up as I took my chaser friend again, as well as my Big, Tristan. And no we did *not* scare anyone with our lack of boundaries in Cards Against Humanity or play video games and watch "This Is The End" until 5am, I did *not* eat a family size mac and cheese from Wawa by myself in about 10 minutes, and this was most *certainly* not the night before a tourney. Huh-uh. Nope.

~Metalfest(s)~

The team has a surprisingly high percentage of metal-heads, including myself, Tristan, and Mason. Not content with smashing into each other on the field, we make sure to jump into mosh pits at every opportunity. Just don't get between Mason and Tristan in the pit. That's not fun.

~Teammate Events~

As a team, we support each other whenever we can; be that the occassional hockey game, a genderbent punk production of Henry VIII, or anything in between.

~Halloween~

Having become exceedingly close friends by the time Halloween rolled around, Tristan, chaser Megan, and I spent Halloween together, bouncing between events in full costume.

~Sorority Spring Formal~

This time the team really came out in force; 5 of us were there! The only organization with more members there than us was the Fencing Team... They managed to beat us by one and denied our request to take it to the parking lot and see how much one more fencer really helped.

~Campus Golf~

Four of our six campus golf players in my group were from the team. We made ourselves proud by dressing as the Guardians of the Galaxy and sending tennis balls and dirt clods flying for an hour before binging on pancakes at Sadler.

Griffins clean up good.

Team-mate turned future room-mate!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page